Voting open for the most homophobic comment of the year at the 9th annual GLORIAs Awards (Marriage Equality) Special Edition

In Parliament | 10.05.18

The public is encouraged to cast their vote online in the 9th annual GLORIA Awards. Hosted by Labor MLC, Penny Sharpe, the GLORIAs give awards to the most outrageous, ridiculous and downright ignorant public comments made about the LGBTIQ community in the past year. 

The 2018 awards focus on the actions and comments made during the campaign for marriage equality, the postal survey and debate as it went through the Federal Parliament.

There are 43 nominations across 7 categories (list of all nominations attached) including media, religion, politics, sport and the silliest comment from within the LGBTIQ community itself.  This year there are two new categories, Anonymous Idiots and there is a Good GLORIA.

All finalists and their comments can be viewed in the voting survey. The full address for voting is

So who will it be? Kevin Andrews for his fears about marrying his cycling mates? Miranda Devine and Andrew Bolt for their ongoing desire to talk about rainbow fascists? Or those who said they would vote no because the marriage equality campaign sent them a text message…

Organisers are worried that Lyle Shelton may have been trying too hard because he has several nominations. There is also a special nomination under the Anonymous Idiots category to the couple who decided to chant "vote no!" at Penny Sharpe’s kids and partner when they were parked at the shops during the postal survey.

The winner of the Golden GLORIA for the most deserving comment of the year will be decided via a boo-off at sold out event to be held on Wednesday 16 May on the eve of the International Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia (IDAHOT).

The event at NSW Parliament House is hosted by comedian Kirsty Webeck with performances from drag queen Barbra Blacksheep. 

Quotes attributable to Penny Sharpe MLC 

“We’re down to the pointy end of proceedings, it is time to cast your vote to help us decide who is going to win a GLORIA for their efforts during the marriage equality campaign.

"Instead of yelling at the media or getting shouty on social media, the GLORIAs give everyone the chance to vent their anger by voting for those that have annoyed or offended the most this year.

“I encourage everyone to vote now – there are only seven categories so it’s quick, and let me tell you it is very satisfying.

“These awards are fun and colourful but they also send a powerful message that homophobia and transphobia have no place in our community. Vote now.”