NSW Labor will ban toxic PFAS chemicals

In Parliament | 04.07.18

Due to the on-going refusal by the Berejiklian Government to ban PFAS, NSW Labor has committed to banning the toxic chemicals if it wins the State Election in 2019.

The commitment will see NSW join South Australia and Queensland along with 171 other countries who have acted against PFAS.

Per-and-poly-fluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) are used in firefighting foam and are responsible for the contamination at Williamtown, impacting at least 750 homes. There are at least 25 sites in NSW affected by PFAS contamination including the Shoalhaven, Botany Bay; and Bathurst, Bankstown, Camden and Tamworth airport sites.

Shadow Environment Minister Penny Sharpe has criticised Minister Upton over her misleading comments in NSW Parliament that it was up to the Federal Government to take action.

Shadow Minister for the Hunter Kate Washington said the community deserves the right to a clear explanation from the Minister on why she won’t ban PFAS given the serious concern over the toxic chemical, especially from Williamtown which has been affected by contamination by the nearby RAAF base.

Quotes attributable to Shadow Environment Minister Penny Sharpe  

“If the Berejiklian Government won’t act, Labor will. Minister Upton can no longer keep shirking responsibility on to her federal counterparts. 

“Labor will lead the way in banning PFAS and helping to reduce any further contamination.” 

Quotes attributable to Shadow Minister for the Hunter Kate Washington

“For three years, the residents of Williamtown have been living this contamination nightmare. The Berejiklian Government has done nothing to stop it happening again. 

“Queensland and South Australia have banned PFAS already, as have 171 other countries. It’s clear that the Berejiklian Government has the power to do it too, but they won’t. 

“We should never have a repeat of the situation in Williamtown, and all the other sites affected by PFAS contamination.”