NSW Labor welcomes six new members to State Parliament

In Parliament | 07.05.19

NSW Labor will welcome six new MPs when the 57th NSW Parliament begins today.

In the Legislative Assembly, Labor welcomes three new MPs after it won the seats of Coogee and Lismore off the Coalition, and retained the seat of Auburn, at the March election.

New Member for Coogee, Marjorie O’Neill, enters Parliament for the first time, while new Member for Lismore, Janelle Saffin, returns to NSW Parliament after previously being a Member of Legislative Council from 1995-2003. Ms Saffin was also the Federal Member for Page from 2007 to 2013.

Shadow Minister for Sport and Veterans’ Affairs, and new Member for Auburn, Lynda Voltz, also joins the Legislative Assembly for the first time after previously being an MLC.

In the Legislative Council there are four new Labor MLCs: Tara Moriarty, Rose Jackson, Anthony D’Adam and Mark Buttigieg.

With Ms Voltz, Ms O’Neill and Ms Saffin now sitting in the Legislative Assembly, Labor’s representation of women in the Lower House has reached 47.2 per cent.

The Coalition has just a 27 per cent women representation in the Legislative Assembly.

Labor has an overall 40 per cent representation of women in NSW Parliament.

This bucks the overall average across Australia of women representation in parliament which is 34 per cent (as at November 2018) and surpasses the Coalition’s 28 per cent overall representation in the NSW Parliament.